Skip to main content


Main Content
Clockwise from top left: David Allen, Taryn Allen, Kat Barger, Santiago Piñon, Emily Herzig, Robin Griffith
  • Share

Once a year, TCU academic deans deliberate among outstanding nominees from each college and school to honor with the Deans’ Award for Teaching and the Deans’ Award for Research and Creativity.  

Reading through their accomplishments, letters of support from colleagues at TCU and other institutions, endorsements from students and the faculty members’ own statements, the deans discuss, deliberate and choose three winners for each award. Each winner receives $2,500.  

Interim Provost Floyd L. Wormley, Jr., announced the 2024 winners. 

TCU has some of the best faculty members in the nation, so I know the deans have a tough decision to make each year to choose just six to honor,” Wormley said. “I congratulate these respected educators who teach our students and lead the way in their fields through research and creative activity. Their dedication and excellence in the classroom and beyond help make TCU a driving force for academic excellence.”    

Deans’ Award for Teaching 2024 

Robin Griffith 
Professor and Department Chair of Teaching and Learning Sciences 
College of Education 

Emily Herzig 
Instructor II, Mathematics 
College of Science & Engineering 

Santiago Piñon 
Associate Professor of Religion and Ethics 
AddRan College of Liberal Arts – Humanities 


Deans’ Award for Research and Creativity 2024 

David G. Allen 
Luther Henderson University Chair in Management and Leadership 
Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Programs 
Neeley School of Business 

Taryn Ozuna Allen 
Associate Professor of Higher Education Leadership 
College of Education 

Kat Barger 
Associate Professor of Astronomy 
College of Science & Engineering 


Tag IconAcademics/Awards